Eugen Biser Award

The Eugen Biser Award honours exceptional individuals in public and academic life whose work has rendered lasting service to those values to which Eugen Biser dedicated himself in his theology:

  • for the freedom of the individual,
  • respect for human dignity,
  • for social coexistence in a spirit of tolerance and dialogue and
  • the peace-building significance of religions in the present.

In 2016 the Eugen Biser Award is presented to Dr. h.c. Charlotte Knobloch.

Previous awardees


Eugen Biser Award 2012

Prof. Dr. Norbert Lammert
President of the German Bundestag
» entire broadcast on BR extra (Bayerischer Rundfunk, television)


Eugen Biser Award 2008

Prince Ghazi bin Muhammad bin Talal
Hashemite Kingdom of Jordan
Sheikh Habib Ali Zain al-Abideen al-Jifri
United Arab Emirates
Reisu-l-Ulema Dr. Mustafa Cerić
Grand Mufti of Bosnia and Herzegovina (until 2012)


Eugen Biser Award 2005

Prof. Dr. phil. Dr. theol. Dr. h.c. mult. Karl Cardinal Lehmann
Bishop of Mainz and Chairman of the German Bishops' Conference (until 2008)

Eugen Biser Award 2003

Prof. Dr. theol. Dr. theol. h.c. Ferdinand Hahn
Professor emeritus for New Testament Studies on the Faculty of Protestant Theology at Ludwigs-Maximilians-Universität München
The first recipient of the Eugen Biser Award died on 28 July 2015 at the age of 89.